
The Angel was one of the commonest mediaeval inn signs and in the mid-18th century there were 23 Angel Alleys and 30 Angel Courts in London. The building now stands empty and little noticed on the corner of Pentonville Road and Islington High Street. The only indication of its past history is Angel Mews, which runs behind the building.
The station was opened as ANGEL on 17 November 1901 and was completely rebuilt in 1992 to cope with a much higher usage.