,
Random
Hammersmith bridge (part three)

Bronze head

Dollis Hill

Admonitions handscroll

St George the Martyr (Borough High Street)

Iced tea

Ickenham

4D Experience

Shepherd's Bush Market

London bridge (part eight)

The Clink Prison

Francisco Jose de Goya у Lucientes (1746-1828), El sueno de la razon produce monstruos

Great Torc from Snettisham

The Horses (part one)

Cannon street railway bridge

News from our friends
XML error in File: http://www.anglophile.ru/en/rss.xml
XML error: Not well-formed (invalid token) at line 2
Most Popular
Peter Paul Rubens (1577-1640), Isabella BrantThis famous portrait drawing is of Rubens’ first wife, ...
Waterloo suicidesFor centuries people have been committing or attempting...
The queen of vintage - Hilary ProctorThere's only one thing more fabulous than Hilary Pr...
The Blues and RoyalsIn 1969 The Royal Horse Guards (The Blues) were amalgam...
London Oratory (Brompton Road)The Congregation of the Oratory was founded in Rome by ...
London bridge (part twelve)After the opening in 1836 of London Bridge station, the...
Clocks and watches - Martyn Stamp"1970s watches are very popular right now, whereas...
Guy's Hospital ChapelThe benefaction by which Thomas Guy founded the well-kn...
Discussed
Advertisement
Stanmore
 (голосов: 0)
Stanmore


Stanmore was recorded Stanmere in the Domesday Book and is derived from the Old English stan, 'stony' and mere, a pool'. There are outcrops of gravel on the clay soil here and the mere may have been one of the ponds which still exist. Known as Stanmore the Great in 1574 - 'the Great' distinguished it from Whitchurch or Little Stanmore.

The station was opened as STANMORE on 10 December 1932.





Информация
Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.