Totteridge & Whetstone



The Horses (part one)

Wood Green

Lambeth bridge (part three)

Temple Church

Golders Green

Kew Railway Bridge

Specialist dealers share their top tips

Prince Regent

Wood Lane


Palmerston gold chocolate cups

Mithras slaying a bull

News from our friends
Into the future
Elizabeth II HAS REIGNED in a world moving swiftly through political shifts, cultural change and technological advances. Traditional institutions of law, religion and politics have suffered loss of ...
Elizabeth II (1952 - )
Princess Elizabeth Alexandra Mary was born at 17 Bruton Street, London on 21 April 1926. A happy childhood was spent with her parents, the Duke and Duchess of York, and younger sister Margaret Rose. ...
Edward VIII and George VI (1936 - 1952)
Edward VIII (1936) Edward, Prince of Wales, eldest son of George V and Queen Mary, was known to the family as 'David'. Charming and informal, he was a popular prince, touring Britain and the empire, ...
George V (1910 - 1936)
Edward vii's eldest son Albert died at the age of 28, and so it was his second son, George, who followed him as king. George had learned the navy's traditions of duty and. Blue-eyed, blunt, and ...
House of Windsor
When Queen Victoria died in 1901, she left three generations of heirs. They, it was expected, would reign as monarchs of the House of Saxe-Coburg-Gotha. In fact, the name survived only 16 years. In ...
Most Popular
Peter Paul Rubens (1577-1640), Isabella BrantThis famous portrait drawing is of Rubens’ first wife, ...
Waterloo suicidesFor centuries people have been committing or attempting...
The queen of vintage - Hilary ProctorThere's only one thing more fabulous than Hilary Pr...
The Blues and RoyalsIn 1969 The Royal Horse Guards (The Blues) were amalgam...
London Oratory (Brompton Road)The Congregation of the Oratory was founded in Rome by ...
London bridge (part twelve)After the opening in 1836 of London Bridge station, the...
Clocks and watches - Martyn Stamp"1970s watches are very popular right now, whereas...
Guy's Hospital ChapelThe benefaction by which Thomas Guy founded the well-kn...
Teddington footbridge
 (голосов: 0)
Teddington lock, the largest on the Thames, is now the upper limit of the tidal river. The weir and pound lock were built in 1811, on the recommendation of John Rennie, to improve the navigation on this part of the river. The original pound lock was built of wood, but a new structure was begun by the Corporation of London in 1857, opening on 8 May 1858. It was restored again in 1950. As well as this old lock, there is also the 650-foot barge lock, built in 1904 and used now only at busy times, as well as the narrow skiff lock, sometimes referred to as 'the coffin', which was built at the same time as the pound lock.

Upstream of the lock, and using the lock island as a stepping stone, are two footbridges that link Teddington and Ham, replacing a ferry that used to operate near here. They were built in 1888—1889 by G. Pooley, and financed by donations from the general public and local businesses, as well as local government. The bridge on the Middlesex side is a charming suspension bridge, painted in blue, white and gold. Its original steel towers have been encased in concrete.

Teddington footbridge

The girder bridge at Teddington, crossing the navigation channel on the south side of the island.

On the Surrey side is a shorter girder bridge, which crosses the navigation channel of the river. The materials for this bridge were re-used from the temporary bridge erected at Hammersmith while the new bridge was being erected there in 1884—1887. The crossing is very popular with both pedestrians and cyclists, and the suspension bridge has suffered over the years and at the time of writing is undergoing restoration.

Teddington footbridge

Teddington has two footbridges. This is the suspension bridge on the north side of the island.

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.